

Ohio Baptist General Convention Lavmen Auxiliary Newsletter 2nd Quarter - 2022





Deacon Cyril N. Thornton State Laymen Auxiliary President

Ohio Laymen's Fellowship (OLF) First Annual Workshop – March 19, 2022

The Ohio Laymen's Fellowship completed its First Annual Session on Saturday March 19, 2022.

This Historical event included Guest Lecturer Dr. Howard Washing who serves as Ohio Baptist General Convention (OBGC) Congress Dean and President of the Baptist Pastors Conference of Columbus and Vicinity Inc.

Guest Preacher was Samuel N. Winston Jr. who serves as Ohio Baptist General Convention (OBGC) Convention President.

The OLF leadership agreed to create and offer yearly awards to Laymen and Women Supporters who have shown outstanding Christian servant leadership in the state of Ohio. It was decided to name the awards 'The Ohio Laymen's Fellowship Moses J. Garrett and Wallace Wyatt Meritorious Christian Service Award'. The first awards will go the families of these two humble Ohio laymen servants.

Laymen's from around the nation attended this Historical Ohio event including Dr. Thad Jones who serves as the National Baptist Convention USA. Inc. – Laymen Movement (NBCLM)– Midwest Laymen Vice President under the leadership of (NBCLM) National President Dr. I.V. Reeves.

Award frames were created by W. Rich'e Original. This company is owned by Bro. William Richardson (Eastern District). Frames are made from strategic and featured woods imported from Africa, Brazil and Middle East.

To view video of this historical Ohio Laymen event: Click Here







Award presented to Bro. Moses Garrett on March 29, 2022 at the Ebenezer Baptist Church in Sandusky Ohio during the National Laymen Olive Branch Conference. Host Pastor Rev. Clayton E. Howard.



On April 13, 2022 at the Union Grove Baptist Church in Columbus Ohio, the Wallace Wyatt award was accepted by daughters Sis. Cheryl L. Ward and Sis. Tamara Freeman who serves as the Eastern Union Missionary Baptist Association (EUMBA) Women's Auxiliary President under the leadership of Moderator Dr. Vincent L. Golden Sr.